marketszoqa.blogg.se

Free nas plex
Free nas plex









free nas plex

FreeNAS is now known as TrueNAS CORE and what was previously known as “TrueNAS” is now TrueNAS Enterprise. In 2019, we decided to unify both projects under the TrueNAS Open Storage name. The two were maintained separately despite having much in common, including a near-identical codebase. For many years, FreeNAS and TrueNAS® grew alongside each other at iXsystems®- FreeNAS as the community-supported software edition and TrueNAS as the enterprise edition for mission-critical storage applications. No system is perfect.FreeNAS® first made the leap onto the internet in 2005 and over the last decade, has become a household name with over 10 million downloads and 1 million deployments worldwide. I'll probably focus on getting lower cost, lower capacity drives to expand at some point in the future. I'm treating it as primarily a media server, and it's been very reliable and kind of awesome. If it's just a media server, it should be fine. If this is your primary data backup system, don't do it. But if you accept that limitation, it's a good system.

free nas plex

So to OP's original question: you can't just drop in a new drive and get parity or rebuild parity across all your drives. I see a lot of what I think of as "old male tech" think, with an obsessive focus on technicalities and minutiae instead of listening to user problems. So it's not that I would do things differently, but it would have been nice to understand up front that this system is limited in a way that other NAS systems typically aren't.Īlso, the vitriol that people use in this community is really off-putting. I'm willing to accept this risk though, since I have multiple machines and data is backed up across my network on multiple machines and also to two different cloud services. I can of course set up new vdevs and create redundancy in those, but it's not like having an overarching redundancy strategy. I learned a lot, and it's a great system, especially for free software.īut I do feel a bit stuck / limited in terms of expansion now. I was more focused on getting functionality via plugins and exploring jails and whatnot. I didn't really understand the limitations around vdevs at that moment. I had two 10TB drives which I set up as mirrored in a vdev, as my primary pool. I wish I'd known about the inability to expand a specific vdev before starting my setup. I'm relatively new to TrueNAS (set up my server just two months ago).











Free nas plex